Pet Grooming

“The difference between a dog that is groomed every 3 – 6 months (or less) and a dog groomed every 4 – 6  weeks, is one dog thinks its being punished, while the other thinks its a part of life.”

It is estimated that 11m (40% of) households have pets, 24% own dogs.

There is no argument in saying that dogs make excellent companions but they need a lot of care and attention in return. They are dependent on us, helpless, like children, a trust that is put upon us.

Pet Grooming

My focus for this project was to look into the care of pets in the UK.

In Ghana, “pets” are trained to protect and guard their owners from crime and assault, kept outside of the home.

As a result, growing up I lacked the experience of living with pets, caring for them as animals with feelings who need physical care as well as emotional care.

Pet Grooming

Since coming into the UK, I was fascinated by the way people here are trusting and emotionally engaged with their pets. People make it a point to build a relationship with them by spending so much money on the care of their pets.

Pet Grooming

In response, I captured a series of photographs to communicate this unique culture.

Pet Grooming

Pet Grooming

Pet Grooming

Pet Grooming

Pet Grooming

Pet Grooming

 

2 thoughts on “Pet Grooming

  1. Fascinating post! I really like all the images you shared. I myself am a dog lover and can completely relate with this post. One recommendation I would have is to change the background image as it is really hard to read the text with the picture in the background.

    I’d love to get your thoughts on my blog (https://smm2016blog.wordpress.com). I’m always looking for feedback on content and how to improve viewership, so if you have advise, please let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

